Determining Motor Speed?

Hi all,

Right now we have a CIM-U-LATOR gearbox hooked up to a modulox gearbox.

We want to get the speed of the overall output.

So, a few questions

1. Does the encoder fit on the CIM shaft?
  2. If it does, then I assume we’ll need to put it on the CIM shaft and perform math in the code to find the speed after all the gearing within the gearbox?
  3. It’s very high up on the robot, and the encoder wire seems short. Any suggestions?

EDIT:

Looking into some parts, I found

Are these the parts needed?

it looks like there’s a circular part of the hex shaft, and it is meant to protrude from the gearbox, and you attach the encoder there, while the hex protrusion on the other side is used as the normal provided hex shaft would be.

1. I dont think so. I believe on the toughbox, the drive axle is machined down to the correct diameter on the backside to accept the US digital encoder. I have no experience with your gearbox.

2)Correct

3)You will need to solder in some extra wire and then solder some female PWM connectors on the end to connect it to the DS. (White - signal; black - ground; red- v+)

3)You will need to solder in some extra wire and then solder some female PWM connectors on the end to connect it to the DS. (White - signal; black - ground; red- v+)

DS? I thought the encoder went into the Jaguar.

There are two options to connect the encoder.

One is to connect it to the DSC; this option will require two Digital I/O channels because of the nature of the encoder output. If you take this route, make sure that you take care soldering the wires (there are alternatives to connect the wires; search the forums to find them) as they are easily damaged by the heat, and that you solder them correctly.