Diamond Plating on sides considered being on the field?

Ok are the SIDES of the field considered bing on the field? I know this is a very stupid question, but if a robot isn’t touching the FLOOR and does have a hold of the bar is that considered being on the field? It is touching the diamond plating on the side of the platform.

yes, the diamond plating is a part of the field

But my question is could we get the 50 points if we were touching the plating and not the floor.

No, the rules state that

The diamond plate is part of the platform, thus you are not hanging.

Thank you for clarifying that!