District event in the U.P. (michigan) please respond

I am planning to hopefully start an event in the U.P.
my question is how many teams would be willing to bare the cold and travel to the U.P. for the event. Just so when i start to get the wheels moving i will know a general amount. Its not a :Yes i am committed now to going:, more like your willing to do it. thanks :slight_smile:

I’m a college student at NMU in Marquette (central U.P.) and have to travel a ways to get my FIRST fix (Milwaukee/Chicago). I think an event in the U.P. would be a great idea, even though it would probably end up being in Houghton as there aren’t any teams local to Marquette. Might have to change that.

I Am also at NMU i have been looking for others that are here.

We have found what we pretty much expected to find - FiM is like a “Field of Dreams” - That is, “If you build it, they will come.”

No offence to the teams, but where they say they would or would not go is unreliable. That’s mainly because they have no idea what to expect when they get there. All they see initially is the distance traveled, which we know is not the proper metric, because we all will go a long way for a quality event at a reasonable price.

Don’t let an apparent lack of team interest dissuade you, should you find that to be the case. If you put together the personnel that can coordinate all it takes to make a great event - venue, venue, venue - location, location, accommodations, and co$t - then FiM can (and will) make it happen.

I know that our team has at least one senior that is looking at heading off the U.P. next year for collage and 1 possibly the year after that is looking that route as well. They would probabbly love it if there were events up there even if our team couldn’t make it up there to compete at just so they had an event that they could at least go to and watch.