Diving deeper into motors?

So we’re going into our 4th year and I want to take our robot design up to the next level, try to go as high as we can. One thing I’ve noticed many teams do is the careful use of motors, knowing how much they can handle, peak power, current and voltage curves, etc. Can someone either explain or point me towards useful references for this stuff? I have no prior experience in this and don’t really know where or how to start. I’ve tried looking things up here on CD but didn’t find much regarding the topic. Anything regarding motors would be really appreciated.

Thank you so much to anyone who is able to help

3 Likes

I too would be interested… seems like a question my team has been chasing for years.

I’m not really an expert on this, but I try to consider current (probably the most important one) when looking at what ratios to use.

971 has a lot of really great more technical oriented lessons on things like this one:

Additionally, the JVN calculator/spreadsheet is a really great way to calculate everything you need.

2 Likes

Just adding onto this thread cause into would like to know but I’ve used the JVN calculator and I watched the 971 video but I’m still not clear on a lot of things.

Specifically what rpm band to you want to gear a motor for. For example, you need headroom in your motor rpm to account for pids so for something like a shooter which would nominally spin at 5k rpm, how much headroom do you want.

Stalling a motor to brake an elevator. I get you look at the charts, but what are the step by step ways to ensure you can stall said motor for x amount of time without smoking it in an actual application.

Do all mechanisms need to be geared up to account for pids or is it only some.

2 Likes