Does the college name count?

So I’m a sophomore in HS right now and starting to look at colleges. So far two vantage points have been thrown at me.

Go to a smaller school, get your bachelors degree and then go to a big name school (MIT, CMU, Caltech, etc.) to get your graduates degree.
From basic logic, I know this will save me money. Compare a $7,000 UCONN in-state tuition to a $40,000 MIT tuition. However, when I go for a job interview at Big Company after graduating from UCONN, will someone with a degree from MIT get a better shot at a job then me?

Go to a big name school for your bachelors. The bigger name will get you bigger jobs.
Well, this would cost me a lot more money, but if it’s true I may also be able to pay that student loan off faster. Does the “Wow, that guy went to School X!?” factor count much in a hiring process?

So, from your experience, does going to a bigger name school get you more/better jobs than going to someplace smaller?

The pedigree of the college you go to, the grades you earn while there, and the activities that you engage in above and beyond your course work all count. The pedigree counts because potential employers know the competition is stiffer, the level of instruction steps up to this higher bar, and you will be driven to work harder and learn more as a result. By the same token, it is easier to “stand out” in a “top 50” school, as opposed to a “top 5” school.

My advice would be to go to the best school that you can get into and can reasonably afford. If you find that you can afford only a state school, you should not worry too much about that. The best graduate schools do pick from the top students available from a reasonably broad spectrum of schools.