DQed game rules

Have have 2 questions:

  1. When an alliance is disqualified, can the opposing alliance finish up the 2:00 round?

  2. I’ve heard that, if an alliance is disqualified, than the opposing alliance gets three times their OWN score, I am correct?

If the opposing alliance can play out the round, they could really score major amounts of points!

–Ben Mitchell

Disqualifications usually don’t happen until after the match is over. I’ve only seen one team/alliance DQ’ed in five years of FIRST so I don’t think it’d be too common. So I don’t feel it’d be too much of an issue.

Matt

I read somewhere that the refs can also disable your robot, if they do that then I’m sure the match will continue, you just won’t be able to do anything.

Ben,

You’re not alone in thinking some of the DQ rules are ambiguous. The answer to your #1 is in the rulebook in the paragraph right before DQ1. (‘The match ends immediately.’) However, the FIRSTtech2002 board recently said the non-DQ team can continue the match!! I’ve asked them to clarify and haven’t seen their answer yet. If you see any more official responses from FIRST pls, post a link here.

You are correct about your #2.

p.s. I’ve also asked first to clarify if a DQ’d Red robot is in Blue’s robot-zone, does blue get points for it? No answer there either.

p.p.s. Last year was probably the worst year as far as DQ’s go. So many coaches stopped the clock when it should have been a student-driver. But that situation shouldn’t exist this year. Hopefully we won’t see too many DQ’s in any form.

Regards,
KA-108 :cool:

*Originally posted by soap108 *
**Ben,

You’re not alone in thinking some of the DQ rules are ambiguous. The answer to your #1 is in the rulebook in the paragraph right before DQ1. (‘The match ends immediately.’) However, the FIRSTtech2002 board recently said the non-DQ team can continue the match!! I’ve asked them to clarify and haven’t seen their answer yet. If you see any more official responses from FIRST pls, post a link here.

You are correct about your #2.

p.s. I’ve also asked first to clarify if a DQ’d Red robot is in Blue’s robot-zone, does blue get points for it? No answer there either.

p.p.s. Last year was probably the worst year as far as DQ’s go. So many coaches stopped the clock when it should have been a student-driver. But that situation shouldn’t exist this year. Hopefully we won’t see too many DQ’s in any form.

Regards,
KA-108 :cool: **

Its a robot in blue’s zone…no reason why it shouldn’t count for points.