motor1 = 1;
motor2 = 0;
}
else

(you get the point)

plus using a motor driver.

option 2:another option is to keep it as PWM,
calculating the values for both engines,
the problem is later interpreting that PWM signal for the motors.
I know you can get that result using a transistor,
but I have no experience with that.

and I cant afford "Victor 884"s
any other suggestions?

thanks,
Ran.

Could you explain what tools do you use in this curcit? (motors, Victors, Spikes, etc…)

OK, I’m sorry if it’s not clear, (I shouldn’t post threads at those hours).

I’m using a small PIC 16f690 as a microcontroller,
I have 2 small everyday DC motors (those you find in RadioShack for around 0.5$)
my PIC receives a PWM signal from an R/C receiver,
and my problem is that I’m not sure which is the best way to control the motor,
I have explained 2 options above :slight_smile:

How small is small? Can you live with like 5A max drive, 1A or so continuous?

Do they need to go forwards AND backwards (please say no!). If they need FWD and REV operation, then you’ll need to build up a H-bridge… which if your motor currents are like the ones mentioned above, you’d be fine with something like a 15030 transistor or the like.

Does your pic device have any ECCP modules? If so, you can set up that module to run all four lines of a full bridge… if you just need to go up to 5A, you should be able to run the lines to the transistor’s bases straight out of the PIC.

Hope that gets you started…

-q

Just checked, your chip has ONE eccp module, so… you can run up to two half bridges like that. See your datasheet for details on how to split the four output lines between two half-bridges.

-q

You don’t mention what chip or circuit you have in mind to serve as the motor driver. Since a PIC typically outputs around 25mA on any given pin (enough for an LED, and actually a rather skookum output for a microcontroller, but nowhere near enough for a motor) you need to amplify that output signal somehow.