EE... I'll give it a shot

Posted by Andy Baker.

Engineer on team #45, TechnoKats, from Kokomo High School and Delphi Automotive Systems.

Posted on 10/10/2000 10:09 PM MST

Nick,

warning, it’s past 11:00pm and I’m uppity

First of all, if you’re an EE and you don’t have a sense of humor, you should not read this note.

Second of all, I’m a Mechanical Engineer.

Thirdly, as a student, you need to know that EEs and MEs work closely together and depend on each other very much. Also, during all of the close working relationships, the ME always has the higher authority and is never wrong. The sooner that you understand this as an EE, the better. :slight_smile:

Here is my take on what an EE does:

1. They are ‘sparkies’. While the ME’s design the machinery, the ‘sparkies’ bring it to life. They specify the hardware and draw the schematics that divert voltage to the hardware to make it work. ‘It’s Alive!!!’

2. A derivitave from #1 is that they design circuitry. This means that they design anything from motherboards to ICs to old Galaga video games.

3. They are ‘bit-twiddlers’. This means that they write alot of code. Some MEs do this also, but mostly it’s the EEs who do the programming for machinery. With the increasing demand for software programming, more EEs are twiddling bits than ever.

4. Once a machine or device is designed and built, EEs always have to make the thing work. Since the mechanical design is always correct, any problems that are arise during debug are ALWAYS the EE’s fault. It will do you well, Nick to learn this early. Sometimes, EEs may think that there is some mechanical problem with the apparatus, but it NEVER is. It is better for the EE to simply take the blame and fix their problem… besides, they are just ‘sparkies’! :slight_smile: