Electrical parts keep breaking!

Hi everybody, I’m new to chief delphi and FRC and I need some help with electrical work. So at the quickbuild, I think the part that broke was the Victor 888 (correct me if im wrong), its the little box that connects the mother board to the motors. So my question is: Is there a way to fix it? Or is there a place that supplies parts like these so we can get them in within the next 2 days? because we need these parts IMMEDIATELY, any help would be great, thanks!

Hi Toby, welcome to ChiefDelphi. Thanks for posting your question in the Technical>Electrical forum.

In general, electrical problems are most easily and effectively diagnosed if you provide us with as much information as possible. What about the Victor 888 in question seems broken? Can you supply us with a picture of your entire electrical setup, of the Victor 888, or more information (e.g. an unusual sound, no LED light, etc.) about your problem? You can upload pictures using the ChiefDelphi image upload tool or linking to an image on a site like imgur.

To be clear, the Victor 888 is a motor controller that looks like this. It connects the Power Distribution Panel (PDP)(this) to the motors in order to supply a specific amount of power to the motors.

As a basic diagnostic, can you tell us:

• What color, if any, is the LED light on the Victor 888? It should be blinking or solid orange, red, or green if it’s wired correctly and receiving power.
  • What color wire is going into the “V-” screw on the Victor 888? What color wire is going into the “V+” screw? Make sure that the wires between the Power Distribution Panel and the Victor 888 go into the V- and V+ screws.
  • Do you have a cable that looks something like this going into the Victor 888? The black wire should be facing towards the inside of the motor controller.

In addition to what NWChen said: