Engineer/Alum looking to mentor in the LA area

Hey CD!

I am currently looking for an FRC team near me to mentor. I really miss being a part of FRC and was hoping to start mentoring earlier, but Covid sorta derailed things. If anyone in the LA area is looking for mentors I would love to join you this build season! I live in the Hawthorne area, and would be fine driving a bit.

A bit about me:
My name is Julia Cecchetti. I was a student on FRC Team 291, Creativity in Action from 2015-2018. I was the programmer, lead designer, and driver for the team for all four years (the team is very small, so had to do a bit of everything). After graduating in 2018, I got my mechanical engineering degree from Penn State and now I work at SpaceX as a propulsion engineer.

I have extensive experience in CAD, strategy, and mechanical design. I would also be able to mentor in either LabVIEW or Java, as I have experience in both. My crowning achievement my senior year in 2018 was a three-cube scale auto :slight_smile:

Please reach out if you need a mentor!

17 Likes

I have known Julia for many years. She would be a fantastic mentor for a team.

2 Likes

Hi Julia. 294 beach cities robotics is always looking to grow its mentor base

We have several mentors from spacex!

It would be great to touch base. Send me a DM and we can chat about the team!

2 Likes

294 is a pretty good team. I’d also see about 207 (Hawthorne H.S.)–I don’t know for sure how they’re doing for mentors but if they aren’t looking for more I’d be surprised and from what I recall they’re also a SpaceX-sponsored team. @Metalcrafters would know more.

There’s a few other options around too–I live in Hawthorne myself, but mentor in Torrance (1197, South H.S.); there’s 4201 over in El Segundo (right down the 105 freeway, and host of the L.A. Regional-- @Joy4201, care to comment?).

4 Likes

Hello!