Ever seen this serial port problem before???

I’ve been programming the Innovation First Robot Controllers for three years now and have never run into the problem that I started experiencing today.

When I plug the tether cable from the notebook serial port into the RC, I immediately get a “Basic Init Error”. I can proceed to download new code, but then have to unplug the cable from the RC before I can reset it. Again, as soon as I plug the cable in, I get an instant “Basic Init Error”.

This is really frustrating, because obviously I cannot get any debug info back.

I have tried three different RCs (2000’s, 20001’s and 2002’s) and the same thing happens on all of them. I have tried different tether cables to no avail.

Having never seen this before, I assume my notebook has started sending something non-kosher out the serial port. It is a Dell Latitude running Windows 2000 Professional, and I have administrative access.

Any (experienced) ideas?

Thanks!!

Aidan
:slight_smile:

I’m assuming you’ve never used this laptop to program an RC before?

On another mailing list that I subscribe to, there were reports that the serial ports of people’s Dell laptops wouldn’t work correctly. I just went back to find those messages when I noticed a new message was posted today. Maybe you will find this usefull

There was a thread some month ago about compatibility of Dell Laptops with Dynamic-C. I even managed to find a solution for myself and recomended it to the group.

Well, it’s time to review. I am using Dell Latitude C810 notebook (P3/1000, 512mb, Intel 815 mobile chipset). On a recent visit to Dell support site (http://support.dell.com), I noticed there is a new version of BIOS available (dated somewhere beginning of November). I am usually of the habit to keep my BIOS (at least) current, so I downloaded it.