Is it legal if the robot takes in balls and then has an expandable “bladder” that holds them. If this “bladder” expands the limited dementions of the robot, is it legal since the balls are the causing this expansion?
Thanks in advanced.
Is it legal if the robot takes in balls and then has an expandable “bladder” that holds them. If this “bladder” expands the limited dementions of the robot, is it legal since the balls are the causing this expansion?
Thanks in advanced.
I would say no, as the bladder is part of the robot.
I was thinking the same thing, but would anyone be able to get clarification on this?
clarification isn’t really required, by the manual and updates it is illegal
if you really want to you can Q and A it but i think i know the answer.
the bladder would be considered part of your robot that would be expanding past the bumper perimeter.
it would’ve been an awesome looking bot though lol
GET IN MY BELLY!!
I don’t think clarification is needed, but your team can QnA it if you feel the need. No one will QnA this for you.
I already know they’ll say it’s illegal though.
You would have to use the FIRST Q & A for a definitive and official answer. However, no part of the robot can exceed the 28 x 38 x 60 inch dimensions at any time during the match. So I would agree that the bladder is part of your robot and could not exceed these dimensions.
If you read Team Update 1. It is legal depending on how it is used. It can not extended out of the 28"x38"x60" box and can not extend outside the vertical projection of you’re robot’s bumper perimeter. Who says you can’t make you’re robot smaller than the 28"x38"x60".
Are you allowed to expand to the outside of the bumper perimeter?
I would still consider it illegal EVEN if your robot were smaller than the granted footprint because the in any playing configuration the first thing that hits the wall must be the bumper.
This bladder would hit before the bumper.
Now I guess you could put a bumper on your bladder…it would be kind of baggy too…I like the alliterative qualities of that… maybe a big blue one…
big blue baggy bladder bumper…
Just kidding…
No. See Update #1. Even if your robot is 1" by 1" not counting bumpers, you can’t expand to 28" by 38".
The only clarification is: Can it go beyond the Bumper Perimeter as long as it does not go beyond the outside of the bumpers? I haven’t seen an answer to that yet.
Make the bladderr small enough so it is impossible to expand that large.
one word: NOOOOOO!!!
The rules clearly state anything outside the perimeters of the 38 by 28 is illegal. But it would be funny to see that at competition
“anything” only refers to the robot. Bumpers and trailer hitch are exceptions.
What about game pieces?
What rules would prohibit zip-tieing your initial 7 balls to the outside of your robot?
What about stacking balls in a bin such that the balls are taller than 60"?
Thinking outside the box…
As for the zip-tying the initial balls to the outside, that would probably be a violation of <G11>, which says “in or on”, as well as <R11>, the size; probably a <G36> violation; it’s a hazard to game pieces (so <R05> applies), and those zip ties are probably in violation of the bumper perimeter.
Staking them in a bin would be perfectly legal.
http://forums.usfirst.org/showthread.php?t=11062
This should solve any debate.
That does answer the question about an expandable “Belly”, because the mesh netting would be outside of the robot dimensions. However, if only a game piece is sticking (imagine an open air elevator on the very outer dimension of the robot, where part of the curvature of a game piece extends beyond the robot, but the actual robot is still contained within both the dimensions and the bumper zone.
I would imagine this isn’t a violation since it is not technically part of the robot, but it is something worth looking at.
http://forums.usfirst.org/showthread.php?t=11306
If the hopper exceeds the 60", illegal.
If only the moon rocks exceed the 60", legal.
If Moon Rocks can exceed the height they should be able to exceed the length and width as well.
yes if any part of the robot at any time expands past the bumper perimeter then it is illegal
I cannot access the game Q+A to copy and quote the response,
but a game piece can extend beyond the dimensions of the robot.
the game pieces are not considered “part of the robot”.