Extension beyond the frame

Can the 12" extension outside of the frame perimeter be split on multiple sides at the same time or is it only one side at a time?

1 Like

Example, 8" on one side and 4" on anther side simultaneously.

The frame perimeter extension limit doesn’t have to be split. You can have as many extensions outside your frame perimeter as you like as long as they are all under 12 inches.

5 Likes

I think Q89 answers your question.

If that doesn’t answer your question, please rephrase and resubmit.

9 Likes

If you do not see any wording in the rules prohibiting extending outside of the frame perimeter simultaneously on multiple sides at the same time, then it would be allowed.

Awesome! Thank you!

I like the image that goes with R04 from 2018; explains it pretty well. It was the same rule, but 16" rather than 12", and it had and endgame exception.

2018 R04. ROBOTS may not extend more than 16 in. (~40 cm) beyond their FRAME PERIMETER (see Figure 8-1), except during the ENDGAME (see G05).

Added (obviously)

I looked for it :frowning: I guess I just gave up after seeing a different graphic for G18.

Or could just go with the pretty picture included with R4 from this years manual…

R4. ROBOTS may not extend more than 12 in. (~30 cm) beyond their FRAME PERIMETER (see Figure 9-1)

3 Likes

I really thought CD broke when i saw the “x reply” under @bjtheone but no reply was chronologically below. Guess it’s a new thing i learned.

(The reply was edited onto the previous post)