FAHA: What happens when your team runs out of motivation?

Our very first message to the FIRST-a-holic Anonymous Mailbox.

I’ve got a problem on my hands. I sure hope you can help me…

Most of the other students on my team have more or less given up interest in our robot. We began the build season without meetings on Wednesdays or Saturdays; we’re now meeting on both days. Several students have said that they shouldn’t have to come in because they were “promised” that they wouldn’t have to (in fact, they were warned that they probably WOULD need to). The worst part? They actually DIDN’T show up.

The same thing will most likely happen next week, over Winter Break…no one is going to want to come in because “It’s a break! We don’t need to come in!” It doesn’t seem to matter to them that we’re behind schedule and NEED these meetings to have a chance to complete our robot on time.

What can I do? How can I get people to come in? I’m only a lowly student; is there anything I can tell the adults to help resolve the situation?