Feasibility of Servo-like Pneumatic Control in FRC

I was looking into the feasibility of having multi-position pneumatics in FRC. I initially thought this could be achieved using some sort of encoder/sensor and two acting solenoids, however I then stumbled upon R814:

*Don’t connect solenoid outputs together. The outputs from multiple solenoid valves must not be plumbed together.

Does anyone think this could be possible? I suppose it could be doable if we had an FRC legal solenoid that allowed output from both hoses at one time (I don’t know if that is safe, I’m no pneumatics expert).

1 Like

My first thought was to use different solenoids on the same manifold. The manifolds I’ve used typically have 3 solenoids and 2 valves for each side of a double-actuating piston. But what if you used 2 different solenoids for each side of one piston with varying pressure? Could you lock the piston using equal pressure anywhere along the stroke? But then again this could be against R814. Just throwing this out to help generate discussion.

1 Like

I suppose that the question here is, does the definition of R814 “plumbed together” apply if two separate tubes to go different ends of the same piston? If that is considered “plumbed together”, then this is illegal. If not, then “plumbed together” must require that the two tubes interact somewhere else.

1 Like

R814 is largely referring to running two solenoids in parallel to increase the volumetric flow rate, as many pneumatic solenoids have absolutely garbage flow patterns and paths; like 0.030" hole garbage. This leads to problems when you want to run something such as a linear pneumatic puncher or catapult.
Of course, the appropriate and safer workaround is simply using a high-flow solenoid.

1 Like

You can try it, but I’ll be surprised if you like it.

Specifically, I doubt that your solenoids can flutter open and closed fast enough to create the effect you’re dreaming about in a usefully precise way.