FIRST Alumni: How's College Going?

After seeing this thread and other “Where are you going to college” threads, I’m curious to hear where everybody ended up, and how things are going! What year did you graduate high school? What College/University are you going to? What is your major? What clubs/activities are you doing in college? Have you done any internships? What have you done to stay involved with FIRST? Anything else you’d like to say about your years following high school!

I could see this thread turning into a good tool for high school students doing their college research.

Cool thread!

I graduated from high school in 2015, and started attending Clarkson University last fall. Since then I’ve had an internship at BAE systems but im looking for more in the next few summers.I’m a mechanical engineering major at Clarkson and I started mentoring team 229 my freshman year. Going into my sophomore year I’m one of two lead college mentors for the 2017 season. I’ve also been playing in a few sports leagues while at school.

Above all else, your grades and health at college come first. How much you do FIRST and how much you try new things is up to you, both are fine. Just don’t be the college mentor that still acts like a student.

I graduated from college this past spring: mech eng degree with comp sci minor. I had a few internships and now have a full time career in software development, and have avoided the specter of student loan debt.

After high school, I went from being a team member, to mentor for 2 years, to lead mentor for 3 years and still ongoing. It might not be for everyone to mentor their team, but it has worked well enough for me.