FRC 2021 Robot Autonomous code not working

Hello, I am having trouble with my team’s robot running its autonomous code correctly. although this is my second year in robotics, this is my first year doing programming, my team’s head programmer left, and with no one to learn from, I had to roughly learn how to do programming on my own. Now with the back story out of the way. I am needing my robot to do the BLUE path for the 2.4.6.1 layout -

-we plan on starting from going to E6, then B7, and finally C9. We originally planned on having the robot do 90-degree turns to help it navigate through the course, but we found out that the robot doesn’t consistently be able to properly turn 90-degrees all the time. Out of random trial and error, the robot was able to do a roughly 18-degree turn straight towards the second power cell (B7). That is only the good news, the bad news is, most of the time whenever the robot picks up the first power cell (E6) the robot either barely turns or turns too much. the problem with it is that I don’t even change anything in the code, it just does it randomly. to make things worse is that the robot doesn’t have a gyro-sphere, so all I have for the robot to turn is the motors’ speed and how long they go for.

Problems:

1. this is my first time doing programming (I don’t know that much)
  2. I am unsure on how to be able to get the robot to be able to turn either the 90-degrees or the 18-degrees consistently

Hi there! Welcome to the wonderful world of programming. Based on your comments, here is a couple options that might be beneficial to you:

Gyroscope addition: Adding a gyroscope would greatly improve your ability to turn precisely. The NavX is a really great system to use, and has been preforming well for use for a long time.