FRC and Systems Engineering - SURVEY

My name is Bill Landin and I’m a mentor for Team 2377 out of Pasadena MD. Not only am I a mentor, I am a George Washington University graduate student in my capstone class of a MS in Systems Engineering degree. My team and I have a project to apply what we’ve learned in our curriculum to a real-world project. We’ve elected to research and analyze the FRC build process and to produce a written report about our findings and make recommendations on how teams can better utilize SE practices and techniques.

We are in the data gathering stage of our project now and we’d like to ask for your input. I’ve attached a questionnaire and, if you have the time, we’d greatly appreciate you completing it to the best of your ability and returning it to us. This is a time-sensitive request, so I’d appreciate any responses you might have NLT May 21, 2011. Responses can be emailed to me at [email protected].

Thanks in advance and congratulations on another successful FRC year. Looking forward to 2012!!

Bill

FRC_Online_Questionnaire-EMSE6099.doc (70 KB)

FRC_Online_Questionnaire-EMSE6099.doc (70 KB)

This seems like a great idea! It’d be really neat if you came up with an “ideal” design method for FRC.

Just a bit of (hopefully) constructive criticism: The survey assumes we are familiar with several SE terms, that many of us are not actually familiar with. We might be using the right process, but since we don’t know the lingo, we can’t say for sure.

Thanks Jim You are correct and for that I apologize. The survey was originally drafted for us to interview local teams - as such the terms had meaning to us. Due to the time constraint, we will press on and value any input we can get.

Are the terms readily defined on the internet? If not, you may want to post a quick glossary on here.