Frc app

hello my name is Tyler and i am a programmer for team 6128. I am designing an app for first teams that includes everything they need like scouting, the rules organized so you can see them without having to go online, a calendar, field map with dimensions. I am having a few problems programming if anyone knows how to program in java in android studio please let me know. If anyone has anything I should add to it let me know as well.

Android Studio isn’t too hard to work with. You can use drag and drop for the UI, and there are plenty of examples online for the Java part. I think this is a great idea and good luck!

One thing I will mention about scouting apps, my personal advice would be to just make an app that’s customized for your team’s needs instead of trying to make a generalized one.
Every team’s needs are different, tgere are an army of scouting apps already released out there (just search the play store or app store or CD), but from the countless hours I’ve spent checking them all out, none of them worked for my team’s needs, and I ended up making my own.

2 Likes

ok I will do that. so for scouting I should make it so the teams can make it however they want and use it in anyway they want

Except there’s already a bunch of apps that aim to accomplish this. If you think you can do it better (It’s certainly possible, I just don’t have the time), then go for it! But don’t set yourself up for dissapointment by expecting a lot of users. Satisty your team first :slight_smile:

1 Like

okay got it then thank you I will set it up how my team scouts then