From the author of THE NEW COOL

FIRST Community,

Neal Bascomb here, the author of THE NEW COOL, a soon-to-be published book by Random House that follows a season in FIRST, particularly through the eyes of one remarkable team and their mentor. The folks here at Chief Delphi were kind enough to highlight the book on the site.

Since the promotion began, there’s been a bunch of questions. I want to answer a few simple ones, then make a couple comments.

1. The book will be in bookstores on March 1, 2011, but it is available now for pre-order before the holidays and after on Amazon and a bunch of other online book retailers (as well as AndyMark.com). Quick comment: the more pre-orders we have, the better chance the book will hit the bestseller lists, the more FIRST will be promoted (I know there’s some self-interest in there, but it’s also true).

2.Who am I? I am not affiliated with any team. I am a journalist and full-time author of five books (this is my fifth). To be honest, I didn’t know much about FIRST when I started this project at the kickoff in 2009. Thanks to a lot of in-depth reporting over two years, and more importantly, the generous time and efforts of many FIRST mentors and students, I feel like I offered in this book an accurate, hopefully inspiring, look at what it is to be on a team. This is not a “technical” book, but rather one that reads like a sports narrative, following mentors and students from kickoff, to the intense early strategy sessions, through the up-and-downs of build season, the all-nighter before ship, and onto regionals and the national championship.