[FTC]: Can I add non-slip material to 4" Tetrix Wheels?

Rookie Coach alert!

We had our robot on a ramp for the first time tonight and the traction of our rear-wheel gear drive 4" Tetrix wheels is not what we are wanting. We wanted to use 4" Hi-Grip AndyMark wheels but we ran into difficulties mounting them in a satisfactory way so we went to the Tetrix wheels. Now we are having to rethink.

Reading various forums, it sounds like teams attach (glue?) strips of non-skid to their wheels. I know sheet materials are legal (and several non-skid sheet materials have been posed and approved in the rules forum) and glue/adhesives are legal… but how does increasing the diameter of the 4" wheel come into play and aren’t we modifying a standard part by doing something like this?

I’m posting here before I ask in the rules forum because: (a) I’m a total FTC novice and I’m not even sure I’m asking the questions correctly, and (b) I get great answers fast here on Chief Delphi! :slight_smile:

THANKS!

R5
o. Wheels of any type up to 4” diameter. Wheels that have exposed features likely to cause damage to field and/or game elements are not allowed.

Emphasis mine. My opinion, in addition, is the non-slip makes the wheel larger than 4".

As long as you add the padding and did not purchase it pre-attached, it should be OK (we do something similar with special Lego tires on the 4 inch wheels). For an official answer post on the official FTC forums.

Jacob, I believe your team was asked to return the wheels to stock for this very reason, they were too big.

I had my coach post on the official forums for a ruling.