[FTC]: How can I effectively mentor an FTC team?

This will be my 2nd year of mentoring our middle school’s FTC teams, but I think that I can do better. Any advice, in terms of dealing with middle schoolers , or otherwise is appreciated.

I have zero FTC experience but over a decade of VEX VRC, so I’ll give you my free 20 cents worth.

Middle school is the real start of roboteers pushing towards being the alpha (vs being the leader). You need to make sure everyone’s ideas are heard and though about. Also that everyone gets a chance to do everything they want to. Driving included.

Planning vs action is the key. A middle school roboteer can turn a stack of metal into a pile of too many small pieces faster than you can say “You’ve been at the band saw a long time”. You need to get them to plan out, design and draw before any material is cut out.

Physics and gravity become real. In their VIQ and FLL day, neither one was that important, but now it’s a key component. While “Moar Power” may be what they want, “More Designer time” is what they need.

They are still little kids, so losses are going to come hard, you need to be there with extra support when things don’t go right.

Parents still want to interact with their roboteer for this age (the roboteer hasn’t gotten to the point of "my parent don’t know how the real world works (*) ) so sign up as many parent as possible. Run special mentor training for them away from the roboteers. I run 5 sessions:basic building, drive base, grippers/grabbers, programming, and sensors. This gets them up to speed and they can help as they learn the nuances later on.

Patience and more patience. But this is your second year, you learned that last year. :rolleyes:

Good luck.

(* all of my kid have said to me at one point “You don’t know how the real world works.” And sometimes in the next 5 years they come back and say “Wow, the real world is hard, you do know what you are doing”. )