I was wondering if the rules will support a team member launching a note across the field and having the other members pick up notes to cut down on travel time? edit: to help a teammate get a note from the source can they just haymaker send a note to a team member who can then pick it up and score.
This may have been answered in another thread, just forgot which one. But if you can launch your notes through the tiny gap of the Source all the power too you. I would presume that them specifying that you can only throw high notes in the last 20 seconds that you cant throw the regular ones at all.
In short, no.
G429 requires Notes to be entered through the Source. (Whether there’s a robot there or not doesn’t matter for our purposes.) The opening of the Source is 6" tall and it appears that that holds true at both ends. You can’t reach into the Chute without running afoul of G427.
Now, once the Note is in the field, things get a little more interesting, and I think this is a more direct answer to your question: It depends on location. You want G414 (I’m intentionally not using the auto-link as the image is the wrong one). If any part of your robot’s Bumpers is in your opponents’ Wing (and your Source is in their Wing), your robot cannot cause a Note to enter your Wing (where you score). Once your robot is out of their Wing, OR if you make sure the Notes stop before arriving at your Wing, tossing Notes back is perfectly legal.
wait so as long as we don’t score from the cross map shot we good?
I’m going to quote the rule, with its picture, here. Take a couple of minutes to process what the rule and the picture together say, then open up the spoiler.
G414 No full-court shots. A ROBOT with any part of its BUMPERS in their opponent’s WING may not cause NOTES to travel into or through their WING.
Violation: FOUL, plus TECH FOUL for subsequent violations in the MATCH.
Figure 7-5 NOTE movement limitations in TELEOP
In short, It Depends. It depends on where your robot is and where the Note ends up. If you shoot from your Source, and it enters your Wing, it’s not legal. If your robot moves out of your opponents’ Wing, it doesn’t matter where the Note ends up it’s legal.
thank you that helps a lot. but if i fully leave the other side can i sends shots to my side. so i am in opponent side middle would that be allowed
As long as you are outside of the other alliances area, you should be good to shoot a Note to a teammate in your zone
What does the rule, and the picture, say?
Let’s break it down a little bit simpler. As in the picture, you are a Blue robot. Once your bumpers are fully outside the Red area on the right (the Wing), you can shoot a Note anywhere you like, at any target (within the field) you like. If any part of your bumper enters the red Wing, your shots must now stop before they enter your Wing (the Blue area on the left), under penalty of Foul.
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.