FY1205000 Charger

Has anyone used the charger that came with the KOP? Ours is a FY1205000. It says when charging the LED will be red, and when fully charged it will be green, but when we hook a battery to the charger that we know is low the LED stays green. We have checked the voltage coming from the charger and it is measuring just over 13 volts. Has anyone else had this issue? Has anyone used the charger successfully?

I have no hands-on experience with this charger (which only started coming in the kit in the last year or two), but the lack of a storefront and such makes me leery–especially when you often want multiple chargers to ensure fresh batteries are on deck at all times.

Fortunately, you’re not lacking for alternatives. There are threads on recommended chargers all over CD, and I’ve used several different kinds effectively. 1293 uses several that came in way-old KoPs when they used to give you a lot of fresh things annually. 2815 uses several Walmart automotive section chargers from 2011 or 2012; I think they just now had to replace one this year, but that’s getting your $30 worth. 5402 used a one-bank charger from AndyMark and thought long and hard about the three-bank one, which saves you power outlets. Both of those are on sale this week. (Full disclosure, I used to work for AndyMark.)

There are lots of philosophies on which charger is best, but if nothing else look for:

• One without buttons–you don’t want to trust freshmen to hit the right thing to start a charge. You want it to start when you connect a battery, straight up.
  • One that can’t charge higher than 6A, lest you damage the battery. (Some chargers may advertise, say, 2/6/10. But that’s a setting, and you don’t want settings.)
  • One with some smarts to it, at the minimum peak detection and auto-shutoff. You don’t want to go just dumping 6A all the time into the battery, obviously.