<G19>

After DEPLOYMENT, MINIBOTS must remain completely autonomous.
Violation: The TOWER on which the MINIBOT is DEPLOYED is diabled. If the MINIBOT is
not deployed on a TOWER, then the ALLIANCE’s TOWER upon which the highest RACE
SCORE was earned will be discounted.

Typo in this rule. Also, this thread is now about typos that don’t change the meaning of the rule, but should be corrected to stop people from getting around said rule.

Can someone please explain G19 to me.

If I choose that my end game is better spent scoring tubes rather then deplying my mini-robot, why would the highest race score be discounted?

I believe I am reading this wrong, can someone please correct me.

P.S. I searched.

If you spend your end game scoring tubes, then you have not violated the “Minibot must be autonomous” rule. I think the issue is that you are reading the “penalty” portion of the rule that is listed after the word “violation” as part of the rule.

The highest racing score would be discounted if it was on a tower where a violation involving a mini bot occured. They could not discount the highest score if a team chose not to put out a mini bot becuase some teams may not try and use the mini bot. Hope that helps any questions just ask

The way I read it is that if your mini bot is not fully auton, then either the tower its on is nixed, or if you didn’t get it on a tower, one of your alliances towers is killed instead.

AKA be full auton mini bot or lose a lot of points <- the important part

I am still a bit confused.

DEPLOYMENT – the act of positioning a MINIBOT on a TOWER. DEPLOYMENT starts when the MINIBOT breaks the vertical projection of the TOWER BASE circumference during the END GAME. (Related form, DEPLOY, verb)

According to that there is no way to not deploy a minibot on the tower. The only thing I can think of is if you delpy the robot and it then leaves the tower.

I’m still scratching my head.

It’s a rule that should be split into two. What they are saying is that if you use your minibot for something other than climbing the tower, then they will disable whomever on your team got the highest score in the race.

Not quite, its a specific penalty for having a mini bot that is not fully autonomous after deployment.

That penalty being either the points your mini bot scored being rejected, or the rejection of points scored by your alliance

Whoops got that rule mixed up, ignore my above post.

only if you decide to deploy the minibot does this rule apply what the others are saying about how the tower is shut off if you dont deploy a fully auton minibot wouldnt apply to you if you didnt deploy a minibot at all.

There is no rule saying you HAVE to have a minibot. You are not compelled to visit the tower base or have a minibot in ANY way.

I think the intent of this rule is that people don’t attempt to deploy mini-bots anywhere other than on the tower. That was at least the way i read it.

More-over there are only 4 towers, so only two robots per alliance are able to deploy a mini-bot. The third may want to carry one for ballast, but it will serve no functional purpose and won’t go anywhere near a tower.

<G02> Blue box refers to an “ALLiANCE” in the second line

in <T26> list item 5-- “Do no include any form of enabled wireless electronic communication”

So, we have a lot of “I think this is what it means.” When we question a rule like this, is it up to conjecture, or at some point will a rule-maker come in and confirm our suspicions? Who speaks with true authority here?

In summary, the strongest suspicion regarding rule G19 so far is that

  1. if you DON’T attempt to depoly a minibot, you’re fine, no penalty
  2. if you DO attempt to deploy a minibot and something goes awry (i.e. it doesn’t attach to the pole, it falls off, it isn’t autonomous) there is a penalty.

FIRST is the true authority. Clarifications are made through the Q&A system. All conjecture here is un-official. To my knowledge, no official FIRST statement will be posted here, only through their Q&A system if so requested. Eventually, that clarification may be reposted here, but everything here is without “authority” I suppose.

Where game rules are involved, nobody speaks with true authority here.

The Game Design Committee gives its official answers in the FRC Q&A forum, and any rule changes or clarifications are published as Team Updates.

<R54-C> refers to a figure 3-5 which doesnt exist. I assume they mean figure 4-5 which is right below it

There are several figures in section 3 which are labeled with a 4. I expect that to be quickly corrected in the first revision.