G415 and Suction Cups

Would using suction cups on the face of the stage to help drive the robot up while scoring in the trap be allowed? I am looking at G415. Theoretically, if we used suction cups on wheels, would this be traction or would this count as grabbing or grasping?

Via team update 6 the damage rule was specified again, but I think this falls under suspension from something other than the chain as well as attaching. This isnt a vacuum system per say, but that is an including X y and Z, not limited to. The suction cups wouldn’t be able to release pressure easily and would pulling on the panels, possibly pulling them off with the weight of a robot suspended on it.

I feel this falls into illegal territory, id ask in the QA if it hasn’t been already asked.

4 Likes

Just go with line C, “attaching to”. Good for one discussion with the Head Ref and one Tech Foul, and possibly one re-inspection.

2 Likes

I’d go with the more scientific definition of vacuum. Whether you’re using a passive suction cup or a powered air pump system, using a “vacuum” to attach to the arena is not allowed.

2 Likes

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.