GCC 4.9 arm-nilrt-linux-gnueabi toolchain

Has anybody been able to successfully build a GCC 4.9 toolchain for the roboRIO? I’ve been looking into it, but I don’t have any hardware, so I was wondering if any of the beta teams had had any success as of yet.

I have already successfully used 4.8.3 with it. 4.9 shouldn’t be that hard.

What C library did you use? Just glibc? And where did you snag the kernel headers?

I have never cross-compiled before, so I am a newbie. When you use GCC and try to compile an application for another platform like the PPC in the cRIO, do you still have access to the full C++ STL library? Also, are there some libraries like pthread available?

I have the GNU GCC compiler to cross-compile for the RasPi, but I don’t know if it will compile my application, which uses pthread and libx11.

Thanks!

I was feeling really lazy, and found a pre-built tool-chain. Compiling GCC takes a while. We will be spreading more information (and filing bug reports) as part of the beta test, and this will be part of it. I’d like to get some more experience with everything before spreading info.

One of my eventual goals is to set up Clang as well.

We are currently updating our toolchain for GCC 4.9, which will (hopefully, almost positive) be the official C++ compiler for 2015. Its not yet done (I’m actually waiting for GCC to compile on launchpad as I type this), but we are hoping to let some beta teams test it soon (week or so?).

The C library much match the one on the roborio (which is glibc irrc. We are currently just copying them off the image). The kernel headers are normal kernel headers, which can be snagged by something like this: https://bitbucket.org/byteit101/toolchain-builder/src/0b343d5f9c3c7910b6ff08ce90d35027cf06f744/get_linux.sh?at=default

Depends on the platform. C++STL is anywhere that C++ compiles, but pthread is not always. Its on the RoboRIO, but not the cRIO. libx11 is not on the RoboRIO as there is no output display for X to run on.