Glitter Bots

Under what rules are we not allowed to glitter bomb other robots during a match? Asking for a friend.


Since the Glitter isn’t part of the game and field, it is part of the Robot so the below may apply in one extent or another.

G19: Don’t tear others down to lift yourself up. Strategies aimed at the destruction or inhibition of ROBOTS via attachment, damage, tipping, or entanglements are not allowed.

G20: Stay out of other ROBOTS. Initiating deliberate or damaging contact with an opponent ROBOT on or inside the vertical extension of its FRAME PERIMETER, including transitively through a GAME PIECE, is not allowed.

G21: Keep it together. ROBOTS may not intentionally detach or leave parts on the FIELD.


Additionally, you might get cited for generally R6: ROBOT parts shall not be made from hazardous materials, be unsafe, cause an unsafe condition, or interfere with the operation of other ROBOTS.


C1, G15-G, G21, R8, R9 (a, c, j, k all possible), possible extension of R11 to cover glitter, T1…

That should be enough reason to not do it.

1 Like

Red card all day. If glitter doesn’t count as egregious I don’t know what does.

This is coming from a guy whose team created a huge mess at an offseason event by wearing copious amounts of body glitter.


I guess you could always cover your own robot in glitter and cause the video compression of the opposing alliance to be harder :slight_smile:


Ob FAB Tip: A bag of glitter, even well secured is NOT a good material choice when trying to adjust your CoG.

These, these, and these.

This is… quite interesting. I don’t think that there will be any such issues this year since you’re not going to encounter opposing robots during sandstorm and only need the camera during game piece placement (also no robots in view in this case).

but I’m wondering how much of an issue this would be in future games where you are likely to have an opposing robot in your field of view.

You’re not allowed to purposefully detach parts of your robot during a match so you most likely won’t be able to get away with it unfortunately. It’s genius though