Global Variables

I have been programming for many years now, and for some reason, I have always struggled to get Global variables to work. We’re using global variables to send data to multiple custom VI’s that we made last season, but for some reason, i cannot seem to figure out how to get them to work. I will make a global variable and I cannot seem to connect them to each other.

I could use some help figuring out how to code them. I know how they work I just can’t get them to for some reason

Is this how you are creating your Globals?
http://www.team358.org/files/programming/ControlSystem2015-2019/labview/CreateGlobal.pdf

Ok, I think I was forgetting a few steps. But I am wondering about writing to a global variable from multiple locations at a time, how would you prevent that because we have a lot of global variables. So would we have to like stop one before we send it to the next place? We are using them in custom VI’s that we made for auto and some of them use the variables that other VI’s use, is that ok?

You may want to look at the Command and Control architecture, instead of the basic. We tried to do what it sounds like you are doing to make some semi-autonomous modes in tele-op. It was a lot of work, and we tried making a bunch of global locks (Boolean) to prevent multiple concurrent calls. Eventually we put in a lot of game mode checking to allow or prevent writes to globals, in an attempt to make them exclusive.

When we sat through Greg McKaskle’s C&C presentation at CMP, it was like having heaven open up to shine light on us.

Global variables should be write in only one place, read in many places.
Try to design your code that way.
In any case, insure that the Global cannot be written to from more than one place at a time.

If you have to write from several places, then create a vi (Non-reentrant execution) that performs the write (one place) for other vi’s to call when they need to change the global.