Gratefully vs Graciously

Gratefully accept. Graciously decline.
That is all.

Edit: I graciously admit that it may be more gracious to “respectfully” decline

25 Likes

I think “regretfully decline” is better, actually. Agree on “gratefully accept”.

17 Likes

I regretfully decline your public service announcement.

34 Likes

Yeah that makes more sense.

8 Likes

I’ve heard respectfully as well. Just don’t gratefully decline.

8 Likes

My favorite is “on behalf of our sponsors, we graciously decline”.

???

32 Likes

“Accept your gracious offer”
“Respectfully decline”

Those have been our goto’s for the past few years.

Edit: We don’t say our sponsors on a decline. But on an accept, like most Ontario teams, we include our namesake sponsors in the accept speech. They are key to making our program succeed and it’s important to us to recognize them that way.

14 Likes

As someone who knows how nerve-wracking it is to stand in front of a gym full of spectators as a high school student, I am just happy when they get the accept/decline correct.

30 Likes

This is super important. Alliance selection is incredibly stressful. For many people it’s the largest audience they’ll ever speak in front of in their entire lives. In addition to that, it’s not truly a planned speech, rather a real-time strategic decision that impacts hundreds if not thousands of people. So as long as folks are being kind out there, I’m more than willing to tolerate some weirdness in word choice.

53 Likes

If it isn’t like this, I don’t want it :smiley:

7 Likes

I graciously disagree, you have to do it like this.

5 Likes

Gracious or grateful or anything in-between, it’s better than asking someone to prom during alliance selection and getting rejected… (You’d be surprised by the # of prom invites during off-seasons)

4 Likes