HELP I'm a coach but I'm to short to see the timer!!!

My team recently advanced to world’s and I found out I was going to be a coach. As a coach I’m expected to stand behind the driver and the operator and remind them of the amount of time left in the match every 5 to 10 seconds. However I’m certainly not the tallest stack of pancakes even for a girl and have been hindered by being unable to see over our quite tall driver and operator to read the timer. Am I allowed to bring a step stool or perhaps my own timer into the match. I want to be a coach but I also want our drive team to function at its fullest capacity. What would your recommend I do?
my deepest regards :ahh:

Step stools are generally disallowed by safety concerns and T26-1. There is a wheelchair ramp for each field for any driver that has need of it. You can ask about using it.

T26-1 does allow the following strategy devices:

I feel that a stop watch would meet that definition.

You can always modify your dashboard to read the time remaining and display it right on your drive computer. I know that the driver station provides this as part of the information it sends.

Is this for FTC or FRC?

If you have some specific threshold(s) in mind, you should be able to program the driver station to send an unmistakable signal to the driver (like flashing backgrounds as red for 0.2 sec). I agree that a stop watch, or even a programmed timer/alarm on your person that sounds based on you pushing a button at the start of the match would not violate any FRC rules. FTC, I’m not so familiar with.

I have never related to a CD thread title more. Best of luck!

You can either program it into the smart dashboard(probably easiest to use), or you can use a hand held stop watch. In 2015 when I was coach I was using the dashboard most of the time, but when it stopped working I used my wrist watch until I got the dashboard working again.