Help Programming a Quadrature Encoder

Hello, i am fairly new at programming, however i am capable or programming hybrid and tele-operated periods… we recently added Quadrature Encoders and encoder disks. I need some help on programming them. Our robot leans to one side when driving full forward or reverse and we thought putting these on might fix that problem if we could program them by revolutions or something. Can anyone help us program these encoders or anywhere where we may be able to find a template program?

Before I respond, I would like to know two things about your question.

1. Do you want to know how to get them to give you information? Or…
  2. Do you want to know how to use the information they give you?? Or…
  3. Both?

OK, I forgot how to count :slight_smile:

kevin.org/frc download the encoder file and read everything in there

i know neither… could you please help?

Bingo! If you follow this link, you will find everything you need to know. Kevin Watson is a resource for code that is AMAZINGLY well documented. That is the place to start. Personally I believe he has contributed more to learning coding for sensors than just about anyone else in FIRST.

Quadrature encoders have two outputs. Both are 50% duty cycle square waves and are usually referred to as Phase A and Phase B. Phase B usually lags behind A by 90 deg.
Typically Phase A is used as a trigger, or more specifically, tied to an interrupt on the RC. When the “trigger”, or interrupt, takes place, an IRS (Interrupt Service Routine) looks at Phase B. If B is high, the ISR increments the content of a counter, if B is low, the counter is decremented. Incrementing or decrementing can be swapped easily by modifying the code. Usually incrementing means you are moving forward, decrementing means reverse, but again, you can determine in code what you want it to represent.