Help with Angles and distance

I am programming a GPS bot. I am getting to sets of (x,y) one being my current location and the other being the destination. I need to do trig in easy c to get the robot to know at what angle to travel and for what distance. I know how to do this trig on paper but have NO IDEA on how to program this. My advisor has given me the task, and I have little if any knowledge of advanced easyC. I know that i will need to do an inverse tangent([X2-X1]/[Y2-Y1]) to get my angle of heading, and to get my distance i need sq rt([X2-X1]^2 + [Y2-Y1]^2). So as you can see, I know what I need to do, but have no idea on how to put this in terms of EasyC. I also know that I will need trig lookup tables and have NO IDEA on how to use them.

I would start with pseudo code, literally you can framework out your code either using flow charts or writing IF … THEN. Most white papers that define software requirements do one or the other and coding from there is as easy as knowing any language’s syntax.

For starters in syntax, I don’t believe EasyC will like the “^” character, so multiply those variables out.

***Now for some issues you’ll encounter along the way (note, these are NOT answers to these issues; I’m only making you aware of them)***What will boggle your mind is that unless your GPS unit is precisly on the center of rotation of your robot, when it moves to the spot you tell it to it will be off by a distance. That distance, minus all negligible mathematical components, is roughly the distance between the GPS unit and the center of rotation.