Help with deciding on the right programming class

I currently attend the University of Florida, and I am studying Mechanical Engineering. However, I am required by my major to take a Computer Programming Class for Engineers.

I was on team S.P.A.M. frc #180 and fvc #3228 but unfortunately didn’t do any programming for our team, only mostly designing, machining, and building.

Its always a software problem :yikes: just kidding!

So I have the option of taking the class based on C++, VB.NET, or FORTRAN.
At my school, I heard from one of my friends that the C++ class was harder, and the Fortran class was easier. I know most F.I.R.S.T. teams use C++ on their robots (easy c in ftc), so it seems that this class would be more useful. I have never even heard of the other two.

So my question is, for the long run in the real world, would it be a better idea to take the class on C++, even though its harder? Or are VB.NET and FORTRAN used in more real world applications that I just haven’t heard of or just don’t know about? Or are these two just outdated software that would have no use if I learned?

Thanks in advance,

Jared

Actually, FRC bots use C as well.

C++ will teach you almost all of the things you will ever need to know about programming, and introduce you to object-oriented programming.

C++ is a very, very efficient language if you know how to use it. I believe it has been around a couple decades(?) and it is still very widely used.

I myself work mostly in the world of DBA, however, my C++ class has proven to be mute at this point in time. I have never seen FORTRAN, and I did not know that they still taught it at schools. VB .NET is a good language, however, correct me if I am wrong, I know that most people learn C++ (or the similar C family) prior to it.

C++ is the basis for most languages, even though it is the one I liked the least, and I use the least today.

… my .02 cents of professional experience