Help with making robot turn 180 degrees in auton

So basically, I’m just getting started with using gyroscopes (NavX) and PID systems for some more advanced features. I have this command callled turncommand that is set to run during autonomous which, in theory, should make the robot turn 180 degrees. However, when it is actually run the robot DOES stop at 180 but the momentum carries it to about 257 degrees. Now, when I tried to adjust the kP value on my PID controller to anything below 0.4 it would just keep spinning in place forever. If anyone has any ideas on any possible fixes or anything I could try then that would be greatly appreciated. I have provided a picture that singles out the code but if you wish to view to full thing here is the code: GitHub - rambots/Robot-2022: Robot code for FIRST 2022 Rapid React

Is your driveRrain.getAngle() returning degrees or radians? Does that unit match what unit you’re passing into the command?

Can you log the angle to network tables/SmartDashboard/Shuffleboard and confirm its turning in the direction you would expect?

Also, when you say it turns endlessly with a kP < 0.4, is it moving steadily at a constant speed? Or is it accelerating? Decelerating? Oscillating? Maybe graph the motor output values to confirm.

Basically, can you graph the controller and confirm you’re actually approaching the setpoint and not endlessly diverging?

drivetrain.getangle() returns degrees

I have logged the angle to shuffle board and yes, when auton is enabled it starts moving towards 180 degrees (positive, not negative)

Im pretty sdure it is moving at a constant speed which should be 80% of the motors speed. Once I have acess to the robot again i will graph the output values to confirm but Im almost certain that its constant

A few things: