Help with Swerve Drive Programming??

Our team wants to try out swerve drive before season starts, that way we have another drive system to use for the 2012 game if needed. Any help with the coding?

Two resources: Ether’s paper on omnidirectional drive trains here and to use polar coordinates while keeping things a simple as possible.

If it would help i could post my code for swerve drive…

Problems you may face are:

It is field centric so you need a gyro (you may be able to rewrite i can help you)
we used window motors (dont know what you plan on doing)

I will gladly help you. Im Matt from team 228 Gus robotics i have been programming for 2 1/2 years now and am getting pretty good at it.

Here is our swerve bot from 2010:
http://team228.org/media/pictures/view/6721
http://team228.org/media/pictures/view/6202

the thing that makes this robot special is the field centric controls no matter the orientation of the robot forwards is always forwards. you may want to try it,
But do let me know if you would like my help

I apologize if I’m looking at this wrong way, but it seems rather simple from my understanding.

Servos[1-4].set(joystick.getDirectionDegrees());
Motors[1-4].set(joystick.getMagnitude+/-joystick.getTwist());

Of course you’ll need to do some adjusting for the servos and a the twist, but I think that’s all that needs to be done.

Assuming “servos” are the steering motors, it looks like you are pointing all the wheels in the same direction. Here on CD that’s usually referred to Crab drive, not swerve.

With the motors, it looks like you are trying to do skid-steer.

So, it looks like Crab Drive with skid steering.

Of course you’ll need to do some adjusting for the servos and a the twist, but I think that’s all that needs to be done.