Help with weird problem.

Hello guys, I’m a college student mentor for team 1230 and we are currently competing in the NYC regional and we seem to be encountering a serious problem in the pits and i wanted to know if anyone has been having the same problem and/or any solutions. So here’s the problem, when the robot is tethered in the pit all of its functions preform properly but when a specific component is used for an exes of 7 seconds the system shuts down and all of the speed controllers report no signal including the driver console. after about 4 seconds the system turns back on but when the component is used again it kills the system about half a second into its use.

a couple of experiments have been preformed

1. the motor (cim) was unloaded from the belt it is driving and it was able to drive as long as we wanted.

2. certain metal points around the belt were grounded to see if it was static electricity causing a excessive current output

3. the 40 amp breaker was changed to the victor that is controlling the cim

4. the belt was slowed down in an attempt to lower the current draw from the system from the cim

5. A system gauge (i do not know the name of it) connected between both ends of the battery and system input voltage connectors and the current draw read at the time of system shut down was no more then 16 amps at a given time

a clue to this problem may lay with an event that occured durring inspection, the inspector put an ohm meter to the system and measured an impedence of 40 Mega ohms and he said that we should have about 100 mega ohms. this may help a little

also this problem does not occur on the field during play

did you happen to notice the temperature of the CIM?
and the voltage of the battery?

A low battery would seem to be the most obvious reason based on my knowledge.