Hobbies, normal and unusual

So we all know robotics has taken over your life, but for those few spare minutes a day not spent thinking about FIRST (if thats even true!), what do you do?

I am learning to fly my RC helicopter. Also, I like to mess around with old Macintosh computers like making one into a web server.

I’ve played competitive tiddlywinks since 10th grade. Currently ranked 26th in the world.

www.etwa.org - British organization
www.tiddlywinks.org - American organization

I do lots of other stuff, but I think this is the most unusual.

I go off roading in my Jeep, Love going off road and getting that nice clean Jeep a mud bath, and this summer I am going to the Pocono Mountains to do just that. Camp Jeep 2005

Awesome! I didn’t even know that existed!

The most unusual hobby I have is probably blacksmithing. I am an apprentice blacksmith during the summer at a living history camp in California I go to. I’m part Pima indian, so that’s why I go. I blacksmith in the style of the late 1700s/early 1800s. I really love it.

Normally i dont wear safety glasses when i do it, but i had to for five minutes while we were working with a really dangerous metal and i had been blacksmithing for somewhere around five hours, so my eyes hurt. but you guys should know the importance of safety!

Its funny, a majority of people think robotics is an unusual hobby!

wow…hobbies

in my sparetime i build custom bicycles. i taught myself how to weld, so i’ve been practicing a bunch on different frames.

I also like to collect stamps…whenever i get a chance i bust out my album and put some more in.

I’m sure i’ll think of more as the day goes by…

Hrm… I’m starting a web hosting buisiness, ski racing, and racing small sailboats in my free time, and I also enjoy long walks on beaches :stuck_out_tongue:

Lets see… my current projects are:

• Making lights in my room internet controlled
  • Making a robot positioning system for next year
  • Making a 2 wheeled balancing robot