How are you implementing traction control?

I know there’s already a thread with traction control ideas–but I wanted to get a sense of how many people are using each method. 1678 is planning on using an accelerometer-based system, where we look for large shifts in juoystick position and check if this correlates with a shift in acceleration.

Our team plans to use code. We’re going to add an acceleration rate cap. This way when you slam the joysticks forward, you only accelerate at say 25% power a second.

It is a good idea to also program an override button so that you can accelerate to full when you need to.

From what I understand what my team is doing(I’m not a programmer) we plan on using a mix of encoders and an accelerometer to get our ideal acceleration based on if wheels are slipping and we’re accelerating. This is just from what I’ve been told, I’m not a programmer and I’m not 100% sure on how they’re implementing it.

There was no mention of just using the encoders to limit accelleration. Since the robot (plus trailer) should be friction limited to an accelleration of 0.5 m/s2 then you just need to make sure the wheels never pick up speed any faster than that.

Interestingly, after we worked this through with the programming team tonight, I took the opportunity to throw some basic kinematics at them.

The time to cross the playing surface at maximum specified (.06 static) coefficient of friction should be (assuming a 54 foot playing field minus robot, trailer and bumper… total length for acelleration should be about 15m) should be about 7.75 seconds, with a peak velocity of just under 4 m/s. Which is about 12 fps, which is considered fairly speedy for an FRC robot.

But then you hit the driver station bumper and stop.

Jason

I’m just wondering how were u able to get the value of 0.5m/s^2? are u simply taking (normal force* CoF)/mass? and than the normal force i’m guessing ur assuming maximum weight?