How do I make good bumpers in CAD

Hi everyone I was assigned to cad bumpers for the KOP chassis and I’m still pretty new to CAD we are using fusion 360 and I was wondering if anyone had pointers?

1 Like

I’m not an expert with Fusion 360 but when we do our bumpers:

1. We do a top down sketch for the 3/4" plywood
  2. Extrude the pieces to 5 inches tall
  3. Draw a sketch on the end of one of the pieces of plywood with the 2.5" circles for the pool noodles with the outer profile being in the shape of a D.
  4. Use a sweep command to wrap the bumper profile around the plywood frame.
  5. Add a fillet at the corners to clean up the look

Here is a link to a quick sample Onshape document: Onshape

24 Likes

Make sure to provide enough clearance between the chassis and bumpers. This is the biggest mistake our students have made in the past. You definitely need some space for the thickness of the fabric, but also a little more to make changes quick and easy.

We have been struggling with this the past few seasons, making bumpers way too tight, so I’m actually curious how much clearance the veteran teams have settled on.

7 Likes

100 experimented for a while and found 1/16" on each side (so 1/8" total) to be good for a tight fit, especially for bumpers that slid in from the side. 1/8" on each side was also acceptable, and was usually better for bumpers that dropped in from the top.

11 Likes

A couple of points to keep in mind:

1. Allowing 1/8 - 3/16" clearance between robot frame and bumper plywood allows sufficient room to overlap fabric for a clean appearance.

2. Place a premium on robust bumper mounting system. Angle aluminum mounts securely mounted to the bumpers can be easily un/bolted to robot frame elements. I am not a fan of quick release pins or similar attachment methods. If designing a bumper with openings, the importance of secure bumper mounts escalates.

4 Likes