How do you get people interested in Business?

As we all know, it’s costly to participate in FIRST. Especially if you build multiple bots, go to multiple competitions, and host your own events. And a big help for that is having a proper business division in your team that can help organize, get sponsors, fundraise etc.

For the past 4 years I’ve been on my team and talking to seniors before me it seems we’ve only really had at max 1-2 person who’s been interested in Business. Luckily we have an amazing mentor that’s been around the past 10 years that really helps and steps up for our team on the Business side, but we want students to get involved as well. As one of the leaders on my team I wish to try expanding our Business team but the question is, how would we get people actually interested in Business? And secondly, what all does your Business team do? Do they just do Business related things or do they help out with recruitment(Like we want our team to do) or what?

I’m new to this (sub-team). What exactly is Business?

Basically the way our team is organized currently is in separate “teams” or divisions. We have Fabrication/Assembly, Electronics, Design, Programming, and Business. Business is what handles fundraising money, obtaining sponsors, chairmans(though we haven’t done a proper chairmans in over a decade due to the small Business side), and recruitment for our team at least. Being our team is completely student-led we strive to have students do the work but on other teams that may not be the case. We’ve been lucky to have a mentor stick with us for the past 10 years doing almost all our Business stuff but we want that to be changed.

Few questions based on fundraising- (some that i’ve noticed from my team too)