how the competition works?

okay first of all, I would like to say this is my first time really looking at the site and it just took my nearly half an hour just to find how to start a thread so I feel slightly dumb already :o
so anyway here’s my question:
if your alliance loses your very first round have you already lost, and will that be the only round you compete in? this will be the first FRC competetion we’re attending so I’m kinda confused on how the elemination works…:confused:

You have a practice day, then a day and a half of competition in which you will have many matches with random alliance buddies and opponents. After that, alliances are picked for the finals, and they are best two out of three, going from quarter finals to semis to finals.

Every robot will get a good workout and many matches even if it doesn’t make a finals appearance.

for a regional of about 50-60 teams

Thursdays: 8-5pm of practice matches, you get a sheet with the days match schedule and get randomly assign to attend 4 - 5 practice matches that last about 5 minutes each. these matches don’t count, just run around and practice autonomous, driving and scoring. matches end at 5pm and you get few hours until the pits close at 8pm. before the day ends you will have received the schedule for matches on Friday and Saturday,

Friday: 8-5pm. matches start around 10am and run until 3pm you might get 4-5 matches in this day 2 minutes long each. these count! you get points and get on the scoring board and get ranked. you are usually given 7-9 qualification matches to play on depending on where your matches fall in the overall schedule u might end up playing 4 Friday and 3 Saturday or 5 Friday and 2 Saturday… matches end at 3pm and awards get handed out until around 5pm.