How to change a team name?

Our team doesn’t currently have any actual plans to officially change our team name, but we have looked into it from time to time. Our current name was suggested four years ago by people who left the team quickly and we’ve never quite been able to go with it ever since.

The word in our team is that the name can be changed but we have to pay all the rookie fees again (I’m pretty sure that equates to starting over entirely). But I couldn’t find anything about that on the internet. According to the FIRST website it should be editable in TIMS.

If anyone can tell me anything about this it would be helpful. Thanks.

I’d imagine it can easily be changed in TIMS. I’m not a lead mentor or anything so I’m no expert, but I know TIMS is the place for that kind of thing.

Your team has two names. I believe the one you’re asking about is the nickname.

Official name: Sponsor1/Sponsor2/Sponsor3/…/SponsorN & SchoolA & SchoolB & SchoolC & … & OrganizationA

This name is “assigned by FIRST” when you register and list your sponsors. Some teams have a lot, some have none, some just have the school or organization.

Nickname: What you’d rather be known as, because the official name is just too long. (Examples: Cyber Blue, Bionic Bulldogs, C.R.U.S.H.)

I believe all you need to do for the nickname is to check with the team as to whether you like the one you’ve got or not, and if not what to change it to, and then you go into TIMS and change the “Nickname” slot.

What EricH said. Nickname is easily changeable in TIMS by the Main or Alternate Contact. Team number is not easily changed.

I don’t set the names myself on our team, but I believe that even this is entered in manually during each season.

And to answer OP, if you want the name that you put on your pit and said by announcers to be different, it is a trivial matter of your mentors just changing it in TIMS.