How to determine rolling resistance.

This question isn’t directly related to the game this year but for other use. It can however be applied, just be aware the game is not the intent of the question.

I am just curious as how to determine torque that is needed to be applied to wheel(s) to overcome rolling resistance. For example, My motorcycle only has 16 foot-pounds of torque, yet…me and the bike manage weigh 500+ pounds and hit 80+ mph. I know the transmission has alot to do with the max speed (obviously) but I am looking for concepts/equations to help determine the force needed to overcome rolling resistance. Maybe to apply to something such as how much torque is needed to propel a 200 pound object to 30 mph.

Any and all help will be much appreciated.

Thanks!
John

I think it would be useful for you to review the various forces and terms and come to grips with how they relate to each other. I am not an engineer, so take this with a grain of salt. Ultimately, it takes a certain amount of energy to propel an object at a certain speed through some medium (air?) with some system losses due to friction and whatnot. How you get there can vary. You may have barely enough torque to get things moving and accelerate, but plenty of power to move fast eventually ( a 50 cc. road racing motorcycle). Why do the land speed record vehicles take forever to accelerate to top speed? Why do big diesel trucks shift through 3 gears to get to 15 MPH, or so it seems?

Anyway, do dig around. If you can find some advice on what kind of power you need to overcome friction and stuff to propel a bike at 30 MPH, that is good. I never weighed 200 pounds and it’s been awhile since I’ve propelled myself at 30 MPH.