How to get better (advanced programming) LABVIEW

Hi everyone,

Im a high school teacher and fourth year mentor of a FRC team. As soon as I joined the team, I was in charge of the programming despite having little to no experience with programming (only 2 courses in university). I learned to use Labview by studying past codes made by old students and watching countless hours of youtube videos. Im at a point where I want our team to be more competitive, but for this I will need to take a huge step in the programming of the robot.

Here’s what I know how to code:

• DriveTrain
  • Shooter/Lifts
  • Solenoid
  • Limit switch and potentiometer
  • Using time in autonomous mode

Here’s what I would like to achieve next year:

• Coding swerves (we have them, I just don’t know how to code them…)
  • Vision processing (maybe limelight?)
  • Coding autonomous mode that doesn’t work with time…

So finally, here are my questions:

1. How should I go about learning these notions? Haven’t been able to find lots of information when it comes to advanced programming.
  2. Is Labview a good tool for what I want to achieve? Should I switch to JAVA or CPP before learning all these news things?

I would really like to know what helped you take the next step!

Thank you very much,

P.S We have a mechanical engineer helping us with the construction of the robot, but no one regarding programming. We’re located in Montreal/Quebec/Canada.

GitHub - jsimpso81/FRC_Secret_Book_Of_FRC_LabVIEW_2: Secret book of FRC LabVIEW version 2.x is a good place to look if you haven’t seen it yet.

Actually all of jsimpo’s github repositories are worth a look, he’s got some phenominal resources and libraries for labview teams.

1 Like

Switching to Java will almost certainly make this stuff way easier to do, if only because there are many many times as many teams using Java as there are using LabView so help is much more easily-accessible.