How to get better at making decisions in split seconds

Yesterday we played 1678/3476/2437 at Aerospace Valley and my teams defense (5124) played a major role, where we defended 3476 for a majority of the time. 4913/2658 were great teams and were able to keep up with the slowed down 1678/3476 and I am so grateful for this. If I remember correctly 1678 can’t climb with only 1 robot on one side as they need to be balanced with the second robot. On our way back from defense we were blocking 2437 but as a new drive coach I told my driver to come back to climb to level 2 which we couldn’t due to the low battery. I should have told him to keep delaying/defending 2658 so that 1678 won’t get the 36 climb points and stay at 71 points allowing us (5124) and 2658 to stay on the field and not get any points for the HAB climb. leaving the blue alliance with 83 points, and successfully winning it and making a major upset. I am really sad about my decision making and was wondering how I can improve for the off season events. That being said, I know it is an ambitious plan that could have failed but as soon as I said to my driver to come back I knew we would loose and winning this regional is one of the best things that could have happens, showing that 3 cargo ship bots can beat 2 Einstein and world winning robots.

Nevertheless I am very happy for 1678 and that they can keep their 17+ regional win streak.

4 Likes

Watch lots and lots of matches. While you’re watching matches, don’t just focus on a single bot, watch whole alliance movement to get a good idea of their strategy and decision making. When watching matches, try to understand why an alliance is winning or what an alliance could have done to turn a loss into a win.