How to go about making tankDrive and ArcadeDrive methods

So I’m a new programmer for my team and we program in Java. I already know Java programming language and i get the basics of FRC robotics programming. However our main programmer wants me to be able to make the tank drive and arcade drive methods instead of just knowing how to call them. I’m not allowed to look at the methods FRC provides so I was wondering whats the best way to go about making those methods on my own

Before anyone answers, how much help are you “allowed” to solicit from contributors here on Chief Delphi ? We want to help, but we don’t want to interfere with the assignment you’ve been given.

Right, see what you can figure out. Read the sticks and turn on motors indivdually. Start with tank drive.

Start by looking into the Jaguar or Victor classes respective to the speed controllers you have.

A hint, tank drive directly maps joysticks to speed controllers.

Arcade drive is a little trickier, but here’s a hint. To turn the robot you send a positive value to one speed controller and a negative to the other. To go in a direction you send the same value to both controllers. Remember your max value is 1 too, so you may want to consider that if you really want to impress :).

When doing these sorts of problems, I like to make a table. What are my inputs? (Joystick positions). What are my outputs? (Motor PWM values). What are the “points” for which I have well behavior (for example, when your sticks aren’t being touched you probably want to set your motors to 0 speed)?

Once you have this data down in front of you, the relationship between inputs and outputs can be analyzed and you can derive mathematical functions relating them.

im pretty sure you can help me in any way other than actually giving me the code. The reason ive gotta do this is so I can mod the FRC classes should the need ever arise

We have four motors, would it still be the same for arcade drive and tank drive that way?