How to Improve for Next Year

Hi, I’m a rookie FRC player and we just came back from our first FRC Competition. It went fairly well but we know we want to improve for next year and we hope we can do this offseason. We don’t have any ‘real’ mentors, the whole thing is up to us(around 4 of us whose this year was the first) so because of this, I’m quite proud of what we did… Regardless, I have a couple of questions for experienced teams. We are mostly looking for places to get help from, like websites, forums, videos etc

-We’ve tried different sensors that we could find but had no real luck due to lack of concrete explanations online or information that we could find… For example, we have a MaxBotix EZ1 ultrasonic sensor that w3e couldn’t get to work because we got all types of info that didn’t match. (if someone could help with that thanks)

-Being the programmer(Java), I feel like I did fairly well but I still have loads to learn. For example, how to test inputs and outputs, how to write data to the smartboard/dashboard, how to use PIDs etc

-Is there any useful mechanisms we should work on that are usually used in games? For example, we saw that most teams used wheeled intake for the cubes and decided to work on that for other years. We also want to work on elevators(to bring the intake up), climbing mechanisms etc. Anything that we can get a good idea of before build season would be great.

Anything else that could help us as a team would be great, we are proud of our work this year but know we can improve and are looking to do everything we can to do so!

Thanks for any Help!

Congrats on the second pick of the number 8 alliance. Can you tell us what happened, it looks like another team subbed in for you in the eliminations?

It also looks like you are signed up for the Western Ontario event in two weeks in London Ont.

So you have time to make changes to your robot in the next two weeks.