How to set up a 3rd (non drive) motor in C++ Windriver

I’m relatively new to programming in C++ and i have a question regarding how to set up a third motor for say arm control. I am using the default Simple Robot Template in windriver. I already understand how to set up tank and arcade drive but as this 3rd motor will only be used for arm control and not driving I’m hesitant to reuse those commands. The biggest problem I am having right now is figuring out how to take a joystick input such as a get-Axis or something like that and send the information to a motor or speed controller. Thanks in advance.

I suggest looking into the Jaguar, Victor, and Relay classes. As for the get-axis stuff, I’m pretty sure the Joystick class has a GetAxis method that returns x, y, or z axis(though many don’t have a z-axis), though the translation between joystick and pwm output is up to you.

Thanks for the info I’ll look into it.

From my fuzzy memory…

Among your member variables:
Jaguar* pMotor;

In the body of your constructor
pMotor = new Jaguar(…); // I don’t remember the specific parameters. One will be the slot your sidecar comes out of, one will be the PWM output the motor is connected on

In your operator-control code:
pMotor->Set(0.5); // partial forward. I may have gotten the function name wrong. Check out the .h file for details.

WPILib will become your greatest friend, it has everything you need to know to program the robot.

if you’re looking to use an axis as your motor control:

1. joystick(whichever joystick you’re using).GetRawAxis(#), i can’t remember the axis numbers but if you do a print statement, for all the different axis.
  2. look into using a encoder or potentiometer (feedback) thus you can use a pid loop. for more info about pid loops, check: http://www.simbotics.org/resources/controls