How to switch teams

Helloo

I’m new to FRC and we managed to make it to worlds off of district points this year. However I’m looking to join a new team because ours is dysfunctional - even for a rookie. At the beginning of the year I managed to get on the coaches daughter’s bad side when I rejected her advances. After that she started treating me terribly and I was blocked from playing any significant role on the team. This is only one of the slew of issues that popped up over the season. The mentors made at least 90% of our robot and complained about it while they rejected anyone who tried to help. I’m not the only person on the team that feels this way and I tried confronting the team and mentors about it during champs with no success.

There’s another community-based FRC team only 15 minutes away where I could get a lot more support and not have to fight for my life. My question is, how do I go about asking them if I could join their team?

I did talk to them at champs and they said I could come to their workshop anytime if I wanted to see their robot.

2 Likes

I would think you simply just ask. Explain your circumstances and they should be understanding. I don’t know if they have an application process or anything like that, but it shouldn’t be difficult. They might have some other stuff like for instance if they represent a school, but it shouldn’t be bad. My team had home schooled kids and others from the local area so that shouldn’t really make a difference. Most FRC teams are understanding and open to new members.

In the perspective of FIRST all they care about is what team you are registered with at the start of the season on STIMS.

6 Likes

Go and visit, pull one of their mentors aside, tell them you would like to switch teams. If he asks why, give him the reasons. Most teams are constantly looking for new students, and would be glad to let you join.

15 Likes